SCCR John & Beatrice Whiting Memorial Award for Outstanding Student in Cross-Cultural Studies





John Wesley Mayhew Whiting (1908-1999) was Professor of Social Anthropology Emeritus at Harvard University. Beatrice Blyth Whiting (1914-2003) was Professor Emerita of Education at the Harvard Graduate School of Education. Both were major figures in the creation of SCCR (link here to article about SCCR's founding) and Beatrice Whiting was SCCR's first president. Both were pioneers in the areas of psychological anthropology and studies in child development. Their marriage of over 60 years and legendary research partnership inspires all academic couples, and their mentoring of generations of internationally-minded students and researchers left a permanent imprint on our field. This annual award respectfully honors their legacy and memory.

Nominations and application materials due by November 20, 2018 to current SCCR President, Alyssa Crittenden, at alyssa.crittenden@unlv.edu

Award Committee

- Chaired by SCCR President
- 2 other Committee members, appointed by SCCR President (from 2 different disciplines)
- Committee members are recused from voting for nominees with whom they have a clear conflict of interest (personal/professional relationship with nominee)
- Award Committee membership changes each year

Annual Award

- \$150 prize
- Free student membership in SCCR for 2 years
- Free registration and banquet fees for one SCCR conference
- Certificate of award

Eligibility

Graduate student conducting culture-related research

Criteria

- Outstanding culture-related scholarly potential
- Outstanding culture-related scholarly productivity
- Active contributor to SCCR
- Past attendee of at least 1 SCCR conference

Nominations Process

- Self-nominations, nominations by Award Committee members or by dues-paying SCCR members
- Application letter, CV, and supporting letters/materials all sent electronically to SCCR President
- Nominations and application materials due by November 20, 2018
- Award announced by December 20
- Award must be received in person at conference